eesti keeles

Press Releases
Open in print mode

The President of the Republic awarded the laureates of the Educational Prize

President Rüütel today at Kadriorg handed over the President’s Cultural Foundation’s Education Prizes.

The Education Prize 2006 to the amount of 50,000 kroons went to Helgi Uudelepp, a teacher of mathematics at the Gustav Adolf Gymnasium; to the amount of 30,000 kroons to Mart Kuurme, a teacher of physics at the Tallinn Secondary Science School; to the amount of 20,000 kroons to Rein Grünbach, a teacher of art at the Viljandi C.R. Jakobson Gymnasium. This year the laureates were selected from among 24 nominees.

In the words of the President of the Republic a small nation can preserve its sustainability only if the educational level is high and the production is oriented to high technology, which again requires good education and skills. President Rüütel thanked the laureates for their contribution to holding the level of education and through this also the level of culture high.

Helgi Uudelepp thanked on behalf of the laureates for the high recognition bestowed on them and added that it is very good that a council that pays attention to Estonian culture has been set up by the President of the Republic. Uudelepp thanked also President Rüütel for underlining in his speeches the necessity to change our society so that it would become more humane and friendly.

The representative of Hansapank Aivo Adamson said that supporting education is a matter close to the heart for Hansapank - pedagogues help to create such educational environment that inspires people to continue their studies and later change our world for the better.

The Educational Prize was established in 2003 and is awarded to educators at all levels who have distinguished themselves by professional excellence in Estonian educational life as teachers, university teachers, leaders or employees of educational institutions, authors of textbooks or methodological materials, as well as initiators and implementers of practical educational innovations, or as education officials participating in the development of education policy.

The Education Prize is funded by Hansapank.

Public Relations Department of the Office of the President
Kadriorg, October 5, 2006

© 2006 Office of the President l tel: + 372 631 6202 l fax: + 372 631 6250 l