eesti keeles

Press Releases
Open in print mode

The President of the Republic announced a competition for students' history research

President Arnold Rüütel, being patron of the students' history research competition, announced the next competition. In the new school year, the seventh history competition entitled "Taasiseseisvunud Eesti" (Newly Independent Estonia) takes place. The deadline for sending competition papers is 1 April 2006 at the address: Kaare 12, 65605 Võru.

The competition is designed to analyse and understand our national values and to maintain the intergenerational bond, to encourage students' interest in history, to expand their horizon, and also to develop their independent study and research skills. The competition is organised by the Estonian History Teachers' Association and the Körber Foundation from Germany.

In both age groups, the jury will award three main prizes: the 1st prize 2,000 kroons, the 2nd prize 1,500 kroons and the 3rd prize 1,000 kroons. The supervisors of the prizewinners will be awarded a total of six prizes 1,000 kroons each. The best vocational school students will receive special prizes and all contestants be given thank-you letters. The Körber Foundation, covering all expenses related to the participation, will invite three of the best participants to a summer workshop that is going to take place in Germany. Two successful students, who are at least 18 years of age, will be invited to an autumn academy due to take place in one of the countries which have joined the EUSTORY.

The themes of the previous competitions were "The Estonian Family and Home in the 20th Century", "The Estonian School", "The Estonian Soviet Socialist Republic", "The Child", "20th Century Changes in Estonia", and "Daily Life in the 20th Century Estonia".

Public Relations Unit of the Office of the President
Kadriorg, September 1, 2005

© 2006 Office of the President l tel: + 372 631 6202 l fax: + 372 631 6250 l