eesti keeles

Press Releases
Open in print mode

The President of the Republic received the Rotary Award

The Rotary International, today at Kadriorg, on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the Rotary movement in Estonia, presented President Rüütel with the Rotary Award of Honour, which is one of the most dignified awards of the organisation and is given only to heads of state and to the highest rank of state officials. The award was handed over by the president of Rotary International, Carl-Wilhelm Stenhammar.

The President of the Republic is the first Estonian and the first head of state in Northern Region who has deserved that reward for his personal contribution to the restoration of the Rotary movement in Estonia in 1991. The Head of State has participated in the creation of the Rotary Club of Saaremaa and has become its honorary member. Earlier, President Rüütel has received the Rotary Foundation Distinguished Service Award.

District 1420 Past Governor 2002 - 2003 Kari Tallberg, District 1420 Governor 2005 - 2006 Börje Thorström, Tallinn Rotary Club Charter President 1991 - 1992 Raivo Hellerma, and District 1420 coordinator in Estonia Andres Sauter were also present at the presentation ceremony.

In his acceptance speech, President Rüütel expressed his conviction that the underlying principle of the Rotary movement was worth to be regarded highly. "It invites to put the society's interests higher than your own personal interests. I follow the same principle in my work, and undoubtedly it is a principle that is close to the heart of many state leaders," the head of state noted.

Wishing the Rotarians happiness and success in following the noble goals of their movement, the President of the Republic recalled the century old Rotary motto: "He profits most, who serves best".

Today, in the afternoon, the President of the Republic will attend a gala reception held in Kadriorg Art Museum on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of the Rotary movement in Estonia.

Public Relations Unit of the Office of the President
Kadriorg, August 5, 2005

© 2006 Office of the President l tel: + 372 631 6202 l fax: + 372 631 6250 l