eesti keeles

Press Releases
Open in print mode

The President of the Republic, the Chairwoman of the Riigikogu and the Prime Minister made a joint statement

President Arnold Rüütel, Chairwoman of the Riigikogu Ene Ergma and Prime Minister Juhan Parts today at Kadriorg made a joint statement.

The statement runs as follows:


We will vote for the European Union.
We say that firmly today.
We will say that firmly tomorrow.
We will say "Yes" on September 14.

We recommend all Estonian citizens to do the same.


Estonia has been, is, and will always remain a part of Europe. Working together with the European countries that share similar values with us, we will be able to protect and secure our independence, develop our language and culture. The Estonian language will become an official European Union language and this will secure the future of our mother tongue.

European Union will give new impetus to our economy, thereby guaranteeing an increase in the wellbeing of every Estonian citizen and helping the Estonians' living standards reach the level of the wealthy European Union nations.

As a European Union Member State, we will be able to protect the interests of Estonia both in Europe and in the world.

What will happen if we do not join the European Union?

Remaining outside the European Union means a serious economic downturn.
Remaining outside the European Union means a security vacuum.
Remaining outside the European Union means narrowing prospects of the Estonian-language culture.
Remaining outside the European Union means an end to Estonia’s opportunities to make its voice heard in Europe.

"Decide the future of Estonia" is not merely a slogan; it is everyone's civic duty towards his or her nation. Decide the future of Estonia by voting "YES"!

We invite all Estonian citizens to take part in the referendum on September 14 in order to decide ourselves the future direction of Estonia."

The statement has been signed by Arnold Rüütel, Ene Ergma and Juhan Parts.

Office of the President
Kadriorg, June 25, 2003

© 2006 Office of the President l tel: + 372 631 6202 l fax: + 372 631 6250 l